Review: The Price of Peace


The Price of Peace
The Price of Peace by Mike Moscoe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am quickly discovering that finding an original series that a later series is based upon leads to a strong sense of familiarity. I don’t know whether I actually read this book at some point in the past and simply never made the connection when I was reading the Kris Longknife series, or whether exposure to that series, which built off of this one led to my finding the story extremely familiar. Regardless, it was an enjoyable read, and further fleshed out characters that I had grown to know as background characters, giving them a life of their own, and explaining why they act as they do in the subsequent series which I read first.

The writing style itself is definitely not as polished as I am used to seeing from this author, and I have to keep reminding myself that this is the original series when he was first cutting his teeth on the writing process. Definitely a book to seek out if you have read the Kris Longknife series and want more from the author, though equally good on its own merit. Interestingly, while it is the middle book in a trilogy you don’t have to have read the first book to pick this one up and enjoy it. This isn’t always the case for books that are part of a series, so finding a book that can stand on its own is a refreshing change from what is starting to become the norm in modern publishing.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

