Review: Black Panther: The Man Without Fear Volume 1: Urban Jungle


Black Panther: The Man Without Fear Volume 1: Urban Jungle
Black Panther: The Man Without Fear Volume 1: Urban Jungle by David Liss
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Black Panther character has always been a background character in other stories that I have read over the years, but never in my experience has he headlined his own series, so this was an interesting journey for me. I found the writing to be very mature and well written, and by mature I am not talking about being full of foul language but rather in the sense of being well handled, and a sign of maturity on the part of the writer. Honestly, something of a rarity in this market, so finding a writer with a clean, mature writing style is a rare gem to be treasured. The artwork is dark and moody, and is basically the sort of work you would expect in a Batman or Daredevil book. As Black Panther is taking over for Daredevil and patrolling Hells Kitchen I suppose this artwork is perfectly appropriate for the style of book that we have here. Honestly, I am not a super fan of the dark and moody style, even when it fits, but I found that I really didn’t mind it when reading this book.

In the end I found myself very satisfied with the read and looking forward to the next volume.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

