Review: Uglies: Shay’s Story


Uglies: Shay's Story
Uglies: Shay’s Story by Scott Westerfeld
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this, but I can honestly say that I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. Not only that, I want to read more of the story. I may have to track down the novels that make up the rest of the series just to get the other pieces. The part that has me baffled is that the volume ended with a clear “to be continued” notation in the final panel.

One thing that struck me as odd was that the volume was presented very much as manga rather than the style of art that we are used to seeing in American comics and graphic novels. I don’t mind, and actually find it rather refreshing to see that style being used. It actually lends itself rather well to this story as well, making it clearly a better choice than some of the alternatives.

Now…now I need to find out whether there will be another graphic novel so that I can try to track it down…

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

