Review: A Local Habitation


A Local Habitation
A Local Habitation by Seanan McGuire
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Good grief! The lead character in this series always seems to take a pounding during the course of the investigation. Still, even with that challenge the author manages to wrangle things so that against all odds the lead character eventually comes out alive with a victory, bittersweet though it often seems to be. I really enjoyed this book, and while I had figured out the who fairly early in the book the journey to the eventual unveiling was very entertaining. My only real complaint was that the book kept going past the normal end of a book of this type, and the final chapter almost felt like an afterthought. If the author had treated it as an epilogue instead of as a final chapter I think I wouldn’t have minded so much since that chapter is what you would normally expect to find in an epilogue. Yes, I realize that functionally there really isn’t much difference in how you read the story, but knowing that it is an epilogue creates certain expectations. Since it wasn’t handled in that fashion it felt rather disjointed as a conclusion to me. This certainly isn’t enough of a complaint to keep me from reading more of the series, and I have the next couple of books in the series already being filled on my hold list at the library.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

