Review: Locke and Key, Vol. 4: Keys to the Kingdom


Locke and Key, Vol. 4: Keys to the Kingdom
Locke and Key, Vol. 4: Keys to the Kingdom by Joe Hill
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Aaaargh!!! I feel like Charlie Brown trying to play football with Nancy right now. The three previous volumes wrapped up their storylines nicely, giving you nicely complete stories in each volume. Technically this one did the same, but at the same time it left us with a cliffhanger ending with a major change in the playing field dynamics of the primary characters. I want to know what happens next, but unfortunately I now have to wait for the next volume to become available. Fortunately it has already been published and I am just waiting in a hold request line at my library, so it could be worse, but I don’t want to have to wait for the next installment of the story.

The writing, as is likely self-evident from my above statements, is still quite up to par, and is holding up very well as the series progresses. Having the same writer throughout helps to ensure consistency! The artwork did catch me off-guard when I first started this volume. At first I thought that we had an invasion of a new artist and it was now styled to look like Calvin & Hobbs instead of the style I have grown accustomed to seeing. In a few pages it became apparent that I was seeing that part of the story through the eyes of the youngest of the children, and once the viewpoint shifted to another character things were back to normal. In that light I find the change in art style rather interesting as they lend a new look into the mind of the different characters.

All in all a very solid series, and the Will Eisner nominations were well earned. Now…now I have to wait…I don’t want to wait…

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

