Review: Discount Armageddon


Discount Armageddon
Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked this book up as filler while waiting for books in other series that I have been reading to become available. I was anticipating a light read that would help me pass the time. what I did not anticipate was that I would actually come to care about the characters and mourn finishing the book only to find that there is a sequel that has yet to be released.

The book was actually a fairly light read and very entertaining with a surprising amount of character depth developed over the course of the book. I cannot say that I saw much character growth in this first book, but judging by what I have seen so far I anticipate growth in the sequel.

Aspects that I enjoyed about this book is that while it fits neatly into the Urban Fantasy classification it doesn’t go into the darkness of that sub-genre that I so often see with other authors. The primary character is upbeat, quirky, and seems to enjoy being who she is while being surrounded with an interesting cast of supporting characters.

The story itself is fairly straightforward with only a few minor twists and turns, driving effortlessly through to an inevitable conclusion. For me this story wasn’t about the ultimate fate of the story but instead the interesting treatment of the supernatural creatures within the environment of the story. In some ways it actually reminds me of the TV series Grimm, at least in how it treats the supernatural creatures.

All in all a very entertaining read and I am anxiously awaiting the release of the sequel.

View all my reviews

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Review

One response to “Review: Discount Armageddon

  1. I keep hearing really good things about this series from all my urban fantasy blogger friends, i suppose i better give it a try!

Leave a Reply

