Review: Monster Hunter Legion


Monster Hunter Legion
Monster Hunter Legion by Larry Correia
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

More!!!! I want more!!!

Alright, so I guess it goes without saying that this book blew me away and left me wanting more, but…that is exactly what it did. Each installment of this series just keeps getting better.

Some authors would be happy to continue playing with the established cast of characters, running them through cookie cutter adventure after adventure without ever having the characters really grow and develop. Correia doesn’t do that, and his characters, even minor ones, are always growing and evolving. Not only that, but his stories do the same thing. Each book could stand independently as a cohesive whole, and you could read it without ever needing to read the others to simply enjoy the story. However, the stories between the books are all fully entwined, and when read as a complete set the story takes on so much more dimension. This latest book really digs into the overall story evolution, and dips into each of the other books for bits and pieces of this or that to add spice and depth to the story.

My only real complaint is that the series does seem to be building to a grand finale, and as a fan of the series I don’t want anything to cause it to end, even if it is the natural end of the story. Granted, as the reader I have no real way of knowing when that end will finally come. The pieces are building, the tension is building, but the crescendo has yet to be reached, and may not be reached for several more books. So…I will wait (and not patiently I might add) for the next installment in the series.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

