Review: Green Arrow, Vol. 1: The Midas Touch


Green Arrow, Vol. 1: The Midas Touch
Green Arrow, Vol. 1: The Midas Touch by Dan Jurgens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am rarely in favor of a complete relaunch of a series, especially one that takes the character back to origin, but this book is a rare exception to that for me. Green Arrow has always been a favorite for me, though he has had his ups and downs with the various writers in control of his fate. Some of the stories I have loved, others I have despised, but I have always loved the idealism of the character. This relaunch keeps that idealism, modernizes the series, and takes Oliver back to the glory days of being a young man. There seems to be a nice balance between action and story, and you quickly bond with the characters, which is something I typically associate with exceptional writing. Then again, this is Dan Jurgens at work so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. I loved the look and feel of the book as well. All in all a very impressive volume, and an excellent example of a relaunch done right. I eagerly await the next volume.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

