Review: Blue Beetle, Vol. 2: Road Trip


Blue Beetle, Vol. 2: Road Trip
Blue Beetle, Vol. 2: Road Trip by Keith Giffen
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Ugh! This character has so much promise, and is actually well written when making guest appearances in the Booster Gold books, but in his own series he is written more as a teen goof, and is an obvious attempt to appeal to a multicultural reader base. I wouldn’t mind that so much if the story was actually decent and worth reading, but this one bored me to tears. I can’t say that it encourages me to try more in the series.

View all my reviews

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Review

4 responses to “Review: Blue Beetle, Vol. 2: Road Trip

  1. I do suggest you to try the Blue Beetle ongoing series started an year ago: it’s awesome.

    • Unfortunately my local library hasn’t really started stocking much of the New 52 books yet. Most of what they have ordered so far have been the mainline characters. Still, I appreciate the head’s up about the reboot. After the disaster of this volume I was quite willing to give up on it, regardless of the fact that it goes on for another 4 or 5 volumes. If they ever stock the new version I will give it a try.

      • You could buy it digitally. I know it’s not the same thing, but there are some advantages: digital comics don’t take up any space on the shelves, and, if you buy them after some months, you save a lot of money. Thank you for your reply! : )

  2. Agreed, I could buy a digital copy, but I can’t read digital copies at work unless I have an iPad or something similar, and work is where I typically read these. In the future this may change, but for now…hardcopy it is.

Leave a Reply

