Social Media Advertising


Today I received the following comment on my review about Dream House:

Natalie

I originally wanted to see “Dream House” in the theaters, but they seem not to last long and go straight to DVD. I had forgotten about this movie until I heard my co-worker at Dish talking about it. I decided to add this to my Blockbuster @home movie queue. I have one rental at home now that I’m going to return to the store tonight, and pick this up instead. This works well for me since I won’t have to wait for it in the mail, and I can return it the same day if I decide I no longer want it. I think with the big names in this movie it should be watchable despite it not being scary.

What I love about this is that it is actually fairly decently written in that it effectively communicates the primary objective, which is to market Dish’s Blockbuster @home feature. For that the comment deserves some kudos from me. What I find exceptionally humorous is that I work for a direct competitor which offers the same sort of program and streamlines the process much more efficiently than Dish. Even more ironic is that I actually am forced to use Dish instead of the services of the company I work for due to geographical limitations.

You see, I work for Comcast, and am very proud to work for them. Even more, I work in the video department where I actually interact with these services on a daily basis. As a Dish user and a Comcast employee I get to directly compare the two services, not out of choice but by necessity, and given a choice I would switch over to Comcast in a heartbeat.

Now another interesting thing about this is that this is a clear example of a new facet of marketing strategy that many companies are now using. They recognize the importance of social media as a marketing tool, and they are smart enough to recognize that traditional marketing does not work as effectively these days. Too many people are tired of seeing the obvious, shove our product in your face style of marketing, and software tools actually give people the ability to actively block that type of marketing now. So marketing has had to adapt and modify their approach, and take a more proactive approach to marketing to consumers by taking a more hands on tactic. The comment I posted above here is a great example of that strategy in action.

Do I like that my blog has been selected for this type of marketing? I am actually rather torn on the topic. I appreciate that somebody is making an effort to find a different approach to marketing, and I recognize that the person making this post probably paid by the number of posts that they can make, and I know that there is some work involved in finding places where posts like this can seem natural. So, while this is clearly not a real post I think I will allow it to stand.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

