Review: Behemoth


Behemoth (Leviathan, #2)Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book may have been written for the Young Adult market, but it was a solid hit with this 40 something adult. I put this book into my read queue after reading it’s predecessor and finding it an amusing and enjoyable read. I tracked down some of the author’s other work, but was not terribly impressed with the other offerings. This series though shows the marks of a writer who has settled into his style nicely, and one who has worked hard to make this alternate reality come to life. Seeing the events of World War I era Europe through the lens of a character who could have easily been part of our reality provides a very engaging approach to this period of history. Yes, some details have been changed, and it has the added environmental changes of the steampunk and clockwork mechanisms mixed in liberally with genetic manipulation, but the end result is one that I am sure will encourage young readers to want to learn more about the reality of that period of history.

Now for the hard part of reading this book: waiting for the sequel. When I finished the first book this one was scheduled to come out soon, so I put it into my hold queue at the library and was content to get it when my turn came around. Now, having finished it, I want to go right to the third book in the trilogy. Unfortunately that third book has yet to be written, so now I have to wait for the author to finish the book so that it can be published and enter into circulation. [insert heavy sigh]

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

