Career Options


So, it has been a week since I got my 60 day layoff notice, and I am still coming to grips with things. The early feelings of disbelief and betrayal have faded somewhat, but are certainly still present, and at the moment I am trying to figure out just how loyal I should be to an organization that would eliminate my position and discard me like a soiled linen. There are many reasons for staying with this organization, but right now I am wondering whether they really make it worth staying.

I have seen a shift in my outlook though, and while part of it is a result of forcing me to look at it from a different perspective, the change is no less real for that effort. Let me be perfectly honest here: I have gotten complacent in recent years. I know my job inside and out. I know the unit that I support inside and out. There really isn’t anything new to learn, and there isn’t any hint of growth opportunities. Essentially, I am in a dead end position, and if I am going to continue to grow I need to reach outside this unit. I have known this for a couple of years now, and have made token efforts to find a job outside of the unit, but not with any real effort. The layoff notice changes all of this, and I find that I have a real drive to find something, and to find something better.

So, this is an opportunity for me to grow, to set aside preconceived notions, and to reach for something different. In my searching I have uncovered positions internally that I feel I am qualified to fill, and they are starting out with wages almost double what I am currently making!

On top of that I have had tremendous support from my classmates. Some are offering to circulate my resume, and others are offering to post my resume internally, to get me a jump up on the competition. At last count I had received offers of one sort or another from 8 of my classmates!

So, there are some real opportunities for me to explore, and I would be a fool to not post for everything that I feel that I am qualified for, or even partially qualified for since I can always learn new skills. I suspect that I am going to have to really brush up on my interview skills, and make sure that I am presentable in an interview. This means more money out of pocket since I really don’t have interview worthy garments in the closet right now…but the potential return on that investment more than pays for the investment itself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals

Leave a Reply

