What Do I Want To Be When I Grow Up?


For decades that question has plagued me. No career option really called out to me. I might find different aspects of my job to be interesting, but that isn’t who or what I want to be. I think that I have finally figured out what my life goal is: to be a family man.

Family has always been important to me. I may not necessarily stay all that close to my father or brother they are still important to me. Now that I have children of my own I have been looking back at my life, contemplating different things, thoughts and feelings that I have had over the years. From a very early age I wanted to be a family man, though it wasn’t until recently that I could have put that desire into these terms. I knew that I wanted children. I knew that I wanted to find my life partner. I knew that I wanted these things more than anything else.

So how does this mesh with having a career? Now that is a far more difficult question to answer. I am currently back in school again, working on a degree in the hopes that I can leverage it to help me get into a better paying job. The reason for this is to better provide for my family. Even so, after all this time, I still don’t know what I want that job to be. I only know that I want it to be a job that will allow me to put in my 40 hours a week, feel satisfied with what I do, and come home to my family. I don’t want a job that takes 60+ hours of my week to accomplish, where I come home after the kids are already in bed, and I leave before they ever get up. I don’t want a job that leaves me so drawn and tired that I can’t spend time with my children and enjoy seeing my children grow up.

From this point forward, the primary focus of my life is going to be in providing them with a good father, and with being a good husband for my wife. I want to be that strong man of character that my children can use as a role model. I want to be the yardstick that my daughter uses to measure her future boyfriends and partners against. I want to be somebody my family can be proud of when talking to their friends. I want to be that knight in shining armor.

I am not fooling myself, I know that this is not going to be easy to accomplish. Fortunately I have a partner who will remind me of my goals, and will nudge me back into line if I stray to far from what I have stated my desires to be.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fatherhood, Goals

Leave a Reply

