Computer Gaming


A recent email exchange with Drew got me to thinking. One of my favorite pastimes is playing games on the computer. But where did that all start for me? The first computer game, not console game such as Nintendo, was Railroad Tycoon. I spent days and nights playing that game, plotting out intricate webs of rail lines, interconnecting cities, and so forth. Over time other games came along, especially roleplaying games like Ultima, Might & Magic and a few others. But when I wanted to just lose myself in a game I would pull out “sand box” games such as Colonization, Civilization, even Sim City. I have always loved games that let me build things, and to this day I will pull one of those types of games out if my regular gaming pursuits has me bored.

These days my computer gaming time is typically spent playing EVE Online, and after having played the game for well over a year now I think that I can safely say that I have spent more time with this game than any other over the years. But even so I don’t always play this game.

So when I don’t play EVE what do I play? These days there are a couple of different games that draw me in. For “sand box” type of play I find myself pulling out 1701 A.D., though I have been thinking about picking up Civilization IV and finally giving that a try. For roleplaying I often pull out Neverwinter Nights. I have Elder Scrolls: Oblivion and both of the Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic games, but the one I keep going back to is Neverwinter Nights.

So how about the rest of you? Please feel free to post about your own gaming time sinks in the comments. I would love to see what you play when you feel a need to kick back and ignore the world for a time.

1 Comment

Filed under Gaming

One response to “Computer Gaming

  1. Geoffrie

    A few days back Drew invited me to join him and a group on Lord of the Rings Online. I have been playing EVE for a considerable time now, but I find that I am entertaining the idea of trying out LOTRO… I am not a PVP oriented player, being far more of a carebear than a fighter, and everything I have read about this game seems to indicate that it could be right up my alley. Maybe I will pick it up and give it a shot…

Leave a Reply

